NIAAA Fellowship


Indiana University has been awarded an institutional research training grant on the "Genetic Aspects of Alcoholism." The main focus of research training is on the genetic, biological, and molecular basis of high alcohol-seeking behavior. Major topics of research include: neuronal mechanisms underlying the reinforcing effects of ethanol; the genetics of alcohol metabolizing enzymes and receptors involved in neurotransmission; the genetics of alcohol preference and correlated phenotypes in selectively bred rat and mouse lines; regulation of expression of genes and proteins associated with excessive alcohol drinking; analysis of the contribution of genetically-influenced biobehavioral factors, such as disinhibition/impulsivity and acute tolerance/insensitivity, to alcoholism risks in human populations and selectively bred rodents; examination of the genetic influence and history of drinking on the autonomic, electrophysiologic, neuroendocrine, and subjective measures of ethanol administration; human and animal neuroimaging of response to alcohol; medications development; translational research: and neurodevelopmental abnormalities of fetal alcohol syndrome in mouse and rat models.

The training grant offers predoctoral and postdoctoral fellowships. To be eligible for a fellowship, the candidate must be a U.S. citizen, a noncitizen national, or a permanent resident of the U.S. Individuals applying for a predoctoral fellowship should have a B.S./B.A., or equivalent degree. Individuals applying for a postdoctoral fellowship should have a Ph.D., M.D. or equivalent degree. The predoctoral fellowship provides a stipend ($21,180/year), and support for tuition, activity fees and medical insurance. The postdoctoral stipends begin at $37,740/year (zero years of experience) and can go up to $52,068. For postdoctoral trainees, there are fees to cover a limited number of credit hours and medical insurance. In addition, for all trainees, there is a travel allowance ($1,400) to attend the national meeting of the Research Society on Alcoholism (or an equivalent meeting). Predoctoral awards are for a maximum of 5 years, whereas postdoctoral awards are for a maximum of 3 years.

Applicants should contact one of the preceptors listed below before applying. An application can be submitted at any time of the year, and consists of a letter from the preceptor and CV of the candidate. For predoctoral applications, the candidate should have completed a significant portion of course work and should include a list of courses completed with grades indicated. For postdoctoral applications, at least one letter of support from the former mentor or member of the thesis research committee should also be included.

Preceptors include faculty from several different departments who are actively engaged in research in the field of alcohol abuse and alcoholism.

Psychiatry: William McBride, Sandra Morzorati (website), John Nurnberger Jr. (website), Zachary Rodd (website), Richard Bell (website), R. Andrew Chambers (website), Cristine Czachowski (website), Eric Engleman (website)

Medicine: David Crabb (website), Janice Froehlich (website)

Biochemistry: Thomas Hurley (website)

Psychology (Indianapolis): Charles Goodlett (website), Nicholas Grahame (website), James Murphy (website), Steven Boehm (website)

Anatomy: Feng Zhou (website), William Truitt (website)

Medical Genetics: Tatiana Foroud (website)

Neurology: David Kareken (website)

Psychology (Bloomington): Peter Finn (website)

Contact Information:
W.J. McBride, Ph.D.
Director, NIAAA Training Grant
Dept. Psychiatry, Indiana University School of Medicine

C. Czachowski, Ph.D.
Co-Director, NIAAA Training Grant
Dept. Psychiatry, Indiana University School of Medicine

Department of Psychiatry | 355 W. 16th St., Suite 4800 | Indianapolis, IN 46202 | Ph: (317) 963-7288 | Fax: (317) 963-7313